How I Passed the LEED AP V2.2 Exam

7April2007

USGBCIf you follow this blog, you may have come across my “excuse” posting a few weeks ago which mentioned that my posting frequency had fallen off a bit while I was studying for the Leadership Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) V2.2 Exam.

As a follow-up, I am happy to report that I passed the test and I wanted to share the process that helped a “non-design” construction professional study for and pass this challenging (at least to me) Version 2.2 of the LEED AP test.

1. Start by browsing around the USGBC Website. You will find volumes of free information. After clicking around for a while, I recommend that you print out and review the LEED Rating System, which lists very basic information on each LEED Credit.

2. Purchase the LEED Reference Guide which is a monster 400 page manual that provides you with comprehensive information on the LEED rating system. Purchasing this manual is the easy part – finding the time and inclination to read a 400 text took me quite a while; but, I wouldn’t have passed this test without reading the book from cover to cover.

3. Since I have never been on a LEED project, I needed to learn more about how to incorporate LEED ideas into the design and construction of a project and how to track the credits with the online system. You can learn some of this information by reviewing the website; but, I recommend that you purchase the study manual provided by the USGBC Colorado Chapter – the information at the front end of this manual was critical, as was the practice test.

4. The last week before the test, I focused on the practice test from the USGBC Colorado Chapter’s Study Guide and a practice test that I found on eBay. I studied up on the questions that I missed while taking the practice test and I re-read the LEED Rating System document, because many of the practice questions require that you have at least a basic understanding of each LEED credit and synergies among the credits.

That’s the process I followed – if you have other study resources or tips, please share them below.

12MAR08 Update – A posting from one C-School Blog Reader on how he passed the LEED AP V2.2 Exam

82 Responses to “How I Passed the LEED AP V2.2 Exam”

  1. Ernie Says:

    Hi Michael,

    I see you ahve an interest in the construction industry. I am planing on becoming LEED certified and found your posting informative.

    • David Says:

      Just so you know, buildings get certified, people get accredited. It most likely will be on the test.

  2. Craig McFadzean Says:

    Michael

    Firstly congratulations on passing the LEED exam. At present I am trying to attain copies of both the LEED Reference Guide and USBGC Colorado Chapter in order to assist in sitting the exam on the 21st Sep. 2007.

    If you are able to forward copies of this information to me this would be gratefully appreciated.

    Again well done.

    Kind Regards

    Craig McFadzean

  3. Liz Says:

    Hey Micheal,
    Also congratulations for having passed!
    I just heard now about the USBGC Colorado Chapter a week before taking my exam (Sept 24th) and they only send it out on Fridays as hard copies…so it will be too late for me. I was wondering if you had some of that in digital file, especially the sample exam which you could forward to me?
    That would be great help!!!
    Best regards from Liz.


  4. Liz – Unfortunately, I can’t send out the practice test. The folks at the Colorado Chapter put alot of time into developing the study guide/practice test they deserve to get compensated for their efforts.

    If you are looking for a readily available study guide and practice test, check out my post entitled, “Studying for the LEED V2.2 Test” and select the link to the study guide/practice test available on EBay.

    Good luck on the test,
    Mike

  5. Rachel Says:

    Michael,
    Can you share how long you took to prepare for the exam? I am a design professional trying to plan for a realistic time span in which to prepare so I can go ahead and register.

    Thanks,


  6. Rachel,

    The most time consuming part of my study process for me was reading the LEED Reference Guide from cover to cover It took me a couple months of off-and-on studying / reading to make it through this guide.

    Once I completed reading the guide I spent about one month taking practice tests and researching the questions that I got wrong. Another thing that I found helpful is reviewing the LEED Rating System guide from the LEED Website. This information gives you a one to two page recap of each credit and it helps keep all the credits fresh in your mind — this is helpful because several of the test questions have to do with the interrelation among several credits. For example, if you remove the sunshades from your building design, which credits may this effect?

    Refer to the links in the posting above for links to each of the above mentioned reference manuals, guides, and study material.

    Hope this helps and good luck on your test,
    Mike

  7. bbsmith Says:

    I just passed too! Such a relief! I used similar resources but also found the study guide at http://www.leedstudy.com to be a great summary of that huge reference guide. I also loved the Colorado guide.

  8. Gretchen Says:

    Hi Michael,

    I have just began to study for this exam, and I am curious if you can help me understand what reference guide I will need. I see that there are roughly 5 guides priced at $200 each, and I hoping that I just need to study the New Construction Version 2.2? Do you know if this is true? I am eager to study as much as possible in order to pass the test~congrats by the way…


  9. Gretchen – Buy the guide that matches the version of the LEED exam that you are scheduled to take. If you are taking the NC V2.2 Exam, purchase the New Construction Version 2.2 Guide. Hope this helps. – Mike

  10. Matthew Says:

    I just wanted to vent for a moment. I just returned home from the LEED AP exam V2.2 and received a score of 162. I needed atleast a 170 to pass… I guess I didn’t study enough! I wish I could have taken the exam a couple years ago when it was much easier. The only advice I can give is memorize the reference guide, it is most important. I will update you all after my next attempt at the exam. Good luck…

  11. Emily Says:

    Does anyone want to sell me a used LEED reference guide NC 2.2?

  12. Jyothi Says:

    Hi Micheal,
    Congragulations on passing the LEED exam. I am planning to take the exam sometime in the near future, and found your blog helpful. In your blog you have suggested reading the LEED rating system. Are we supposed to review just the New Construction section or all the sections listed under the rating system. Would appreciate your feed back on this.
    Thanks,
    Jyothi


  13. I recommend focusing your studies on the type of test that you plan to take. If you are taking the New Construction (NC) Test, I would study on the NC sections.

  14. intheleed Says:

    I just stumbled upon your website through google search. Congratulations on passing the test! I can’t wait to take the test. I’ve been studying like mad. My test is in two weeks. This will be my first “real world/post-graduation/optional” test that I’ll be taking, so it will be a major milestone if I do pass. I bet it felt real nice =)

    This was a great post Michael. I started my own blog to help me study too. It’s at:

    http://www.intheleed.com

    I recommomend it to any beginner LEED AP candidate. Cheers!

  15. Ro Bo Says:

    I am not one for taking test but it somthing I like to do. Thank you for the tips & congratulations on passing.

  16. Mark Says:

    Just returned from the exam,…passed,…170 – no style points awarded thank goodness.

    I failed my first test (165) by taking the exam lightly. I have passed all my A.R.E tests to date, I also studied sustainability as my senior project in college, so I thought how hard can this be. We don’t be fooled. One must study extensively to pass the NC v2.2 test. It is intentionally difficult due to higher rates of passes. The USGBC/GBCI have made the test more difficult in v2.2 to bring down passing rates.

    I utilized the Colorado LEED Study Guide, the USGBC Reference Guide – NC V2.2, and the Flash Cards. I found the Colorado guide helpful in that is focuses on the process of certification quite a bit. This is substantial part of the test. The most important thing to do is read the reference guide. Read it cover to cover. The first time is crammed and only read intents and submittal requirements. I did not commit to memory all the percentage/threshold requirements, nor most of the other “back-ground reading”. There is a lot of embedded information in the approach/implementation segments, considerations, economic issues, resources, submittal requirements, and definitions that help you sort through the questions during the test. After reading the entire book, I took the practice exams, went over questions I got wrong and re-read sections I did poorly on. I studied the Flashcards periodically. Then the morning of the exam went over the Flashcards one last time. They do a great job in boiling down the intents and percentage thresholds.

    Good Luck.


  17. […] This comment was just received from the posting entitled, “How I Passed the LEED AP V2.2 Exam”. I thought the reads of this blog would appreciate another point of view on what to study for the […]

  18. Jude Says:

    which is the best sample exam practise for leed nc 2.2
    thanks

  19. Gang Chen, Author of "LEED AP Exam Guide" & "Planting Design Illustrated" Says:

    It is good to read the refernce gudie from cover to cover if you have the time. The problem is not too many people have time to read the whole reference guide. Even if you do read the whole guide, you may not remember the important issues to pass the LEED AP exam anyway. You need to repeat your reading several time before you can remember any study materials.

    I passed the LEED AP exam in my first trial without reading the reference guide from cover to cover. I studied the USGBC work shop study materials, and LEEDPass, and only refer back to the reference guide if there are some confusing issues.

    It should take you about one or two week of full time study to pass the LEED AP exam, I have met people spent 40 hours to study and pass.

    I have done additional research and I have just finished a LEED AP Test preb book called “LEED AP Exam Guide: Study Materials, Sample Questions, Mock Exam, Building LEED Certification (LEED-NC) and Going Green” It should be published in one or two months.

    Gang Chen, Author of “LEED AP Exam Guide” & “Planting Design Illustrated”

  20. Sujay Says:

    Hello Michael,
    And all the guys who passed LEED AP,

    I am a MS Civil Engineering student, specialization in Construction Engineering & Management, I want to know how would passing LEED AP exam will help me in my career opportunities. I appreciate getting everybody’s personal advises,,
    Thanks
    Sujay.

  21. sr.valluri Says:

    Pls help me in suggesting where I can get material to give mock exam?
    regds

    SRV

  22. sr.valluri Says:

    Pls help me in suggesting where I can get material to give mock exam?
    Can you give me a hint how many questions shd be correct out of 80 for pass?
    regds

    SRV

  23. sr.valluri Says:

    Can you give me a hint how many questions shd be correct out of 80 for pass?
    regds

    Pls help me in suggesting where I can get material to give mock exam?

    regds

    SRV

  24. Gang Chen, Author of "LEED AP Exam Guide" & "Planting Design Illustrated" Says:

    You need to answer about 60% of the questions correctly to pass the LEED AP Exam. There are a number of books that you can use to prepare for LEED AP Exam:

    1. USGBC Reference Guide. Since you need to pass at least one of the three LEED Exams (LEED-NC, LEED-CI, LEED-EB) to become a LEED AP, you first need to decide which one of the 3 exams you want to take. You need to select the correct version of the Reference Guide for your exam. Most people tend to take LEED-NC exam to become LEED AP.

    The USGBC Reference Guide is comprehensive, but it gives too much information. A lot of the calculations in the book are too detailed for the exam.

    2. The USGBC workshops and related handouts are concise, but they do not cover extra credits (exemplary performance).

    3. LEEDPASS is a good book for LEED AP Exam Preparation. It gives you enough information to pass the exam. It is concise and can save you a lot of time. Some people are turned off by the English grammatical errors. If you are easily bothered by English grammatical errors, this book is not for you. It does have some errors in spelling and grammar, but I can still understand what the author is trying to say.

    Some of the answers to sample questions in LEEDPASS are probably wrong. For example, in order to get to the “correct” answer of the book for questions 375 and 399, you need to think “Provide bicycle rack for 5 percent of FTE within 200 yards” can gain 1 point, but the fact is you need to “Provide bicycle rack for 5 percent of FTE within 200 yards AND provide shower and changing facilities for 0.5% of FTE” to get 1 point.

    I have done additional research and I have just finished a LEED AP Exam prep book called “LEED AP Exam Guide: Study Materials, Sample Questions, Mock Exam, Building LEED Certification (LEED-NC) and Going Green.” It should be published in July or August of 2008. It includes all the advantages of existing LEED books and my own experience and tips as well as the latest LEED AP Exam information. It can be very helpful to you. It’ll be available in amazon and bn.com as well as other major online stores.

    Gang Chen, Author of “LEED AP Exam Guide” & “Planting Design Illustrated”

  25. Gang Chen, Author of "LEED AP Exam Guide" & "Planting Design Illustrated" Says:

    Sujay,

    Passing the LEED AP Exam will make you more valuable to employers. Many public / government or major private sector projects now require a certain number of LEED AP in the project design team. Many design firms are putting dowm LEED AP as one of the requirements in the job description.

  26. Josh Says:

    Congrats!! Thank you for sharing you technques. These will be a huge help.

    I just began studying to take the exam myself. If you are willing to share a copy of your digital files that would be awesome. I’m currently working with a beat up hard copy of the book I got from a coworker.

    Thanks,

    Josh

  27. Kim Says:

    Congrats to all that have passed. I have NO experience in engineering/design or any kind of building construction(I actually work at the H.Depot). I thought this would be a chance for me to do something good.I studied LEED NC 2.2 for about 6 weeks on and off and passed the test the first time around.(Getting my Cert. is useless with no prior construction/engineer experience, I can’t even find someone to work with for free to gain experience) I am going to recommend buying the $200 book and download all information you can from http://www.usgbc.org . If any of you are from the Boston, Ma. area don’t “think” about getting certified, “DO IT!” MA. just passed a law that all new buildings must be LEED certified.

  28. Ag Says:

    I am a Civil Engineer working in a structural firm in Oakland . I did my Masters in Civil Engineering in Arizona State University . I am a LEED AP . I got an impressive score of 190 out of 200 for the exam . I have prepared loads of study notes and sample test papers to help you pass the LEED _ 2.2 version exam with flying colours . If anybody is interested for a tutor , please contact me. I have also prepared about 200 and more sample questions which will definitely help you pass the exam .

    All the best for the preparation

    Take care
    Arathi

  29. Kwasi Says:

    Arathi,

    I am looking for all the information I can get, i took the LEED for NC Exam on Saturday and scored 156 an I am trying to find all the information I can so i can pass the next time i take it in a couple weeks.

    Kwasi

  30. Satya Says:

    Hi everyone,

    I am a mechanical engineer with experience in Design & Construction of electro-mechanical projects. I want to become LEED AP. Could you please suggest which version (NC/CI/EB) should I appear for and the relevant study material for preparing for the examination.

    thanx in advance

  31. Lyn Says:

    I just got back from taking the LEED for NC test and passed with a score of 180. I did not buy the LEED AP reference guide.
    I used the following to study:
    1. free rating system information on the USGBC website.
    2. LEED Professional Accreditation Study Guide and Practice Exam (from USGBC Colorado Chapter)
    3. Flashcards from Cascadia GBC Cascadia Chapter
    4. Green Building Education Services Practice Tests

    I studied the flashcards until I had basically memorized them all. The flashcards are great, but are missing information in the ratings guide and the reference manual.
    I then took the Colorado practice tests, and did not do well, so purchased the Green Building Services Practice Tests.

    Once it got time that I was working on the practice tests, I devoted about 1 week each to taking the test and then studying the specific areas that I missed.

    I’m not a good memorizer or test-taker, and probably studied 1-3 hours a day (each and every day)for 3 months.

    The LEED reference guide would have been very helpful if you have the $150 to spend. May be worth it if you do not wish to risk failing a $300/$400 test.

  32. Randy Says:

    Thank you everyone for all the postings. It certainly has helped me gain a greater understanding of the direction GREEN is heading and potential opportunities than may exist. I have a couple of questions that I hope someone can help me with.

    1. Does having a LEED EB and/or NC AP certification without any construction degree or experience offer any value as a new consultant trying to break into the marketplace?

    2. If not, what would it take to gain credibility?

    I have an information systems and MBA degree and am looking to jump on the energy bandwagon. Has anyone else done this? Any suggestions?

    Thanks

  33. Chris Says:

    I just started reading the LEED for New Construction Version 2.2 and plan to take the LEED AP Exam this fall. Do you have electronic versions of any study material that you could email me? Thanks for the informative info!


  34. Hellow Everyone,

    I am happy to tell you that my book, “LEED AP Exam Guide: Study Materials, Sample Questions, Mock Exam, Building LEED Certification (LEED-NC) and Going Green” is available now as an e-book at:
    http://outskirtspress.com/examguide
    The paperback version should be available at amazon and bn.com as well as other major online stores in several weeks.

    This book includes all the advantages of existing LEED books and my own experience and tips as well as the latest LEED AP Exam information. It can be very helpful to you.

    Gang Chen, Author of “LEED AP Exam Guide” & “Planting Design Illustrated”


  35. Hello! Everyone,

    I am happy to tell you that my book, “LEED AP Exam Guide: Study Materials, Sample Questions, Mock Exam, Building LEED Certification (LEED-NC) and Going Green” is available now as an e-book at:
    http://outskirtspress.com/examguide
    The paperback version should be available at amazon and bn.com as well as other major online stores in several weeks.

    This book includes all the advantages of existing LEED books and my own experience and tips as well as the latest LEED AP Exam information. It can be very helpful to you.

    Gang Chen, Author of “LEED AP Exam Guide” & “Planting Design Illustrated”

  36. Everblue Says:

    Hello all,
    Everblue Energy offers live instructor-led LEED Exam Prep Courses that’ll focus you on exactly what’s covered by the exam. We offer one and two day formats and the course also includes 250 practice questions, an 80 question practice test, credit memorization worksheets, and a reference standards summary sheet. We’ve been very successful helping students of all backgrounds pass the LEED AP Exam and we significantly reduce the amount of time you have to study by focusing you on exactly what’s needed.
    You can register at http://www.everblueenergy.com/leedtestprep.html.

    Thank you,
    Everblue

  37. TerrySmith Says:

    Arathi,

    I could use a tutor…how do I contact you.
    Terry


  38. I recently passed the LEED AP exam as well and during my preparation I began to wonder about the significance of the certification from a professional advancement perspective. As September 2008, there are over 56,000 which is quite large and the rate with which people are taking and passing the exam the certification will quickly lose prestige, or so I may think. Please check out http://www.qualifiedengineer.com to discuss the merits of the certification. I look forward to a lively debate.

    thanks.
    QE

  39. klc Says:

    i studied hard. i read the reference guide cover to cover and studied practice exams and thorough charts for three weeks before i first took the exam. i scored a 166 the first time and did not pass. thinking i would take it again while i still had everything memorized, i signed up a week later. in that week, i again studied the colorado practice exam and all 4 online exams through greenexamprep.com. on my second try i got a 164. the most disheartening thing about this is that i actually care about passing it and people are passing it all around me. i am a poor test taker and always have been. but i know the material.

    if anyone has any suggestions, i might try and take it one last time before they roll out the new version. i need help.

    thank you.

  40. SLS Says:

    I took the exam yesterday and passed with a 189. I’ve passed two bar exams, but think this was the most difficult test I’ve ever taken. I spent at least 100 hours studying, prepared outlines of every section, took sample exams and read through the entire book twice. And I still felt like I was guessing on about half of the questions. When I pushed the “finish” button, I was certain I’d get a response saying Id failed. I’m very glad I didn’t, because I don’t think I could do this again.

    Good luck to anyone taking it. I know everyone learns differently, but I think the most helpful thing for me was writing my own outlines. The process of summarizing the information and putting it into my own words made it much easier to remember.

  41. Anek Agrawal Says:

    I want to know something as a first timer.
    I am from India, a management student specialized in finance and a banker by profession.
    However, recently i quit my job and started something of my own in the field of green sanitation.
    I am not technically qualified but want to learn about Green Buildings. I believe LEED AP exam can be a good starting point for learning.
    How good is LEED AP? Would doing LEED AP build on my credibility as a serious player in the environmental space?
    Please advise

  42. Wayne Says:

    I’m from MA and own A roofing company in the Boston area, we are primarily in the commercial end of the business, re-roofing anything from retail, schools, condo’s, industrial and such. I am wondering if Leed AP would help my company grow and give me a competitive edge on my competition. I don’t have a strong educational background, but wondering how difficult this test is to pass, and what test would best suit my needs, Is (NC) A good place to start ?. I do test pretty well having obtained my masters 100 ton coast guard LI. was no easy chore.

    Thanks for any input

    Wayne

  43. Deborah Says:

    I passed my exam with a 178 and it was the best feeling in the world! I studied for about 50 hours and used the reference guide, the resources on the usgbc website and the CO guide.

  44. Elliot Says:

    Has anyone who’s passed the exam taken a live prep course and found it more beneficial vs.an online prep and/or just studying the books and guides?

    Thanks,
    esp

  45. Hi Aarati Says:

    Could you send me the LEED materials at my email address: kirankupadhyay@gmail.com. I have exam on january 31, 2009.

    Thank you

  46. Titash Dutta Says:

    Hii.. I am an architect & planning to give LEED-NC exam. I am not so good in memorizing. Can anybody suggest an innovative way to remember all points.
    your suggestion will be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks.

  47. Titash Dutta Says:

    I also want to know that if somebody has cleared his LEED-NC exam he will get certification for LEED-AP?.. I am kinda confused. Please explain.

    Thanks

  48. Mark Says:

    Passed with a 183! Thank God that is over!

    I skimmed the reference guide until I had a basic understanding of each credit. I took several online practice tests on greenlearner.com They also have a great study guide.

    One piece of advice…don’t be intimidated by the LEED Exam. Just put in the required study time and you will pass with no problem. It is not as hard as everyone says it is.

    Mark G.

  49. Armando Says:

    Congratulations for passing the exam and sharing with us your experience.

    You recommend that we obtain the practice test that you found on eBay. BUT I went to the site and this is what I found:

    This listing (150276818005) has been removed or is no longer available. Please make sure you entered the right item number.
    If the listing was removed by eBay, consider it canceled. Note: Listings that have ended more than 90 days ago will no longer appear on eBay.

    Do you or anyone have another way or place to find the questions or a copy of them?

    Thank you,
    Armando.

  50. Armando Says:

    On the 30 of August 2008 at 8:34am Lyn recommended to used the following to study:

    1. Free rating system information on the USGBC website.
    2. LEED Professional Accreditation Study Guide and Practice Exam (from USGBC Colorado Chapter)
    3. Flashcards from Cascadia GBC Cascadia Chapter
    4. Green Building Education Services Practice Tests

    Can someone tell me (specifically) where to get it?
    – Flashcards from Cascadia GBC Cascadia Chapter
    – Green Building Education Services Practice Tests
    I don’t want ended up buying the wrong stuff, there is too many similar sites and info out there.
    Thank you,
    Armando.

  51. Bomboy Says:

    For those who have passed the exam, congrats! I have been studying to take the exam myself. I bought the reference guide, the colorado chapter study guide and I also have the LEED Technical Review Workshop(given to me by a friend). I am conflicted about what to use to study. The reference guide is too detailed (mind numbing is a more accurate phrase), and I was wondering if the information on the Technical Review Workshop will suffice for studying for the exam.
    I know it doesn’t include the exemplar performance, and I want to make sure I am not selling myself short as far as preparation goes. Thanks for your help

  52. aussieh521 Says:

    What makes the test hard apart from the questions is all the time and effort required to study and memorize all the material. I am the kind of person who usually studies or learns on my own but I was in way over my head on this one. Cleanedison.com is what helped me.. I really had no other choice, I chose them because if I failed, I could retake the course free of charge but I didn’t have to because I passed on the first try. They also have a practice exam on their website. It is alot of work and I was glad to have someone to help! Highly recommended!

  53. Catrina Says:

    It’s out of the bag. I was looking for a date on this post but didn’t see one..Apparently if you have already passed the test you have an option to “upgrade” so to speak. Did you end up taking the test? I am schedule for next week. I will be attending the courses next week which will definitely help me pass..btw Clean Edison Training Centers is a great resource..they have helped several of my Linkdn mates pass and they have all give rave reviews. I might sign up for private tutoring depending on how the course goes..plus if I don’t pass I can retake it free of charge..They have course sites all over the US. http://www.cleanedison.com

  54. romy Says:

    hi,i am taking my test on april 9th
    can any one suggest me some free online tests


  55. Has LEED become a “bottomless hole” for you?

    There are so many websites and books on LEED AP Exam. LEED has become a “bottomless hole” for some of the people who are preparing for the LEED AP Exam.

    I have been through the process and I have been in your shoes. I am going to share some of my experience with you, and I put down my tips and experience in “LEED AP Exam Guide.” Here is an excerpt of my book’s preface:

    “There are two main purposes for this book: to help you pass the LEED AP exam and to assist you to get your building LEED certified.

    The LEED AP exam tactic 101 is that you must recognize that you only have a limited time to prepare for the exam. So, you must concentrate your time and effort on preparing for the most important content of the LEED AP exam. To assist you in achieving this goal, the book is broken into two major sections: the study materials and the sample questions and mock exam. In the front section, for general information, I use the question and answer format and try to give you the most comprehensive coverage on the subject of the LEED AP Exam. I have just given you the correct answers or information to save you time, i.e., you do not need to waste your time reading and remembering the wrong information. As long as you understand and remember the correct information, you can pass the exam, no matter how USGBC changes the format of the exam. For the criteria of LEED, I’ve listed each credit point with a brief description. In the back section, you’ll find sample questions and answers plus a complete set of mock exam and answers. It is to match the latest real LEED AP Exam as closely as possible and assist you in becoming familiar with the format of the exam. Each credit is noted in abbreviation. For example, SSc6.1 stands for SS Credit 6.1.

    Most people already have some knowledge of LEED. I suggest that you use a highlighter when you read this book; you can highlight the content that you are not familiar with when you read the book for the first time. You can try to cover the answer and read a question first. If you can come up with the correct answer before you read the book, you do not need to highlight the question and answer. If you cannot come up with the correct answer before you read the book, then you can highlight them. This way, when you do the review later and read the book for the second time, you can just focus on the portion that you are not familiar with and save yourself a lot of time. You can repeat this process with different colored highlighters until you are very familiar with the content of this book and you’ll be ready to face the music and take the LEED AP exam.

    The tip to passing the LEED AP exam, or any other exam, is to know the scope of the exam, and not to read too many books, but select one or two really good books and focus on them. Actually understand the content and memorize it. For your convenience, I have underlined the information that I think is very important and fundamental. You definitely need to memorize all the information that I’ve underlined. You should really try to understand the content first, and then memorize the content of the book by reading it multiple times. This is a much better way than the “mechanical” memory without understanding. I suggest you read the latest version of LEED for New Construction Reference Guide (Reference Guide) published by USGBC and this book. The Reference Guide is very comprehensive and detailed. The problem is that it probably has too much information for you to memorize. I suggest you read the Reference Guide first, then read this book and remember the main points for the exam. If you really do not have much time, you can read this book first, and then just refer to the Reference Guide for the part that you may have questions about. This way, you cover the most important information and you should be able to pass the exam…”

    Quoted from the Preface of “LEED AP Exam Guide” Non-exclusive rights of use granted to cschool.wordpress.com

    Gang Chen, LEED AP, AIA
    Author of
    1. LEED AP Exam Guide
    http://www.outskirtspress.com/examguide

    2. Planting Design Illustrated
    http://www.outskirtspress.com/GangChen

  56. Gang Chen, Author of "LEED AP Exam Guide" & "Planting Design Illustrated" Says:

    Has LEED become a “bottomless hole” for you?

    There are so many websites and books on LEED AP Exam. LEED has become a “bottomless hole” for some of the people who are preparing for the LEED AP Exam.

    I have been through the process and I have been in your shoes. I am going to share some of my experience with you, and I put down my tips and experience in “LEED AP Exam Guide.” Here is an excerpt of my book’s preface:

    “There are two main purposes for this book: to help you pass the LEED AP exam and to assist you to get your building LEED certified.

    The LEED AP exam tactic 101 is that you must recognize that you only have a limited time to prepare for the exam. So, you must concentrate your time and effort on preparing for the most important content of the LEED AP exam. To assist you in achieving this goal, the book is broken into two major sections: the study materials and the sample questions and mock exam. In the front section, for general information, I use the question and answer format and try to give you the most comprehensive coverage on the subject of the LEED AP Exam. I have just given you the correct answers or information to save you time, i.e., you do not need to waste your time reading and remembering the wrong information. As long as you understand and remember the correct information, you can pass the exam, no matter how USGBC changes the format of the exam. For the criteria of LEED, I’ve listed each credit point with a brief description. In the back section, you’ll find sample questions and answers plus a complete set of mock exam and answers. It is to match the latest real LEED AP Exam as closely as possible and assist you in becoming familiar with the format of the exam. Each credit is noted in abbreviation. For example, SSc6.1 stands for SS Credit 6.1.

    Most people already have some knowledge of LEED. I suggest that you use a highlighter when you read this book; you can highlight the content that you are not familiar with when you read the book for the first time. You can try to cover the answer and read a question first. If you can come up with the correct answer before you read the book, you do not need to highlight the question and answer. If you cannot come up with the correct answer before you read the book, then you can highlight them. This way, when you do the review later and read the book for the second time, you can just focus on the portion that you are not familiar with and save yourself a lot of time. You can repeat this process with different colored highlighters until you are very familiar with the content of this book and you’ll be ready to face the music and take the LEED AP exam.

    The tip to passing the LEED AP exam, or any other exam, is to know the scope of the exam, and not to read too many books, but select one or two really good books and focus on them. Actually understand the content and memorize it. For your convenience, I have underlined the information that I think is very important and fundamental. You definitely need to memorize all the information that I’ve underlined. You should really try to understand the content first, and then memorize the content of the book by reading it multiple times. This is a much better way than the “mechanical” memory without understanding. I suggest you read the latest version of LEED for New Construction Reference Guide (Reference Guide) published by USGBC and this book. The Reference Guide is very comprehensive and detailed. The problem is that it probably has too much information for you to memorize. I suggest you read the Reference Guide first, then read this book and remember the main points for the exam. If you really do not have much time, you can read this book first, and then just refer to the Reference Guide for the part that you may have questions about. This way, you cover the most important information and you should be able to pass the exam…”

    Quoted from the Preface of “LEED AP Exam Guide” Non-exclusive rights of use granted to cschool.wordpress.com

    Gang Chen, LEED AP, AIA

    Author of
    1. LEED AP Exam Guide
    http://www.outskirtspress.com/examguide

    2. Planting Design Illustrated
    http://www.outskirtspress.com/GangChen

  57. Gang Chen, Author of "LEED AP Exam Guide" & "Planting Design Illustrated" Says:

    Has LEED become a “bottomless hole” for you?

    There are so many websites and books on LEED AP Exam. LEED has become a “bottomless hole” for some of the people who are preparing for the LEED AP Exam.

    I have been through the process and I have been in your shoes. I am going to share some of my experience with you, and I put down my tips and experience in “LEED AP Exam Guide.” Here is an excerpt of my book’s preface:

    “There are two main purposes for this book: to help you pass the LEED AP exam and to assist you to get your building LEED certified.

    The LEED AP exam tactic 101 is that you must recognize that you only have a limited time to prepare for the exam. So, you must concentrate your time and effort on preparing for the most important content of the LEED AP exam. To assist you in achieving this goal, the book is broken into two major sections: the study materials and the sample questions and mock exam. In the front section, for general information, I use the question and answer format and try to give you the most comprehensive coverage on the subject of the LEED AP Exam. I have just given you the correct answers or information to save you time, i.e., you do not need to waste your time reading and remembering the wrong information. As long as you understand and remember the correct information, you can pass the exam, no matter how USGBC changes the format of the exam. For the criteria of LEED, I’ve listed each credit point with a brief description. In the back section, you’ll find sample questions and answers plus a complete set of mock exam and answers. It is to match the latest real LEED AP Exam as closely as possible and assist you in becoming familiar with the format of the exam. Each credit is noted in abbreviation. For example, SSc6.1 stands for SS Credit 6.1.

    Most people already have some knowledge of LEED. I suggest that you use a highlighter when you read this book; you can highlight the content that you are not familiar with when you read the book for the first time. You can try to cover the answer and read a question first. If you can come up with the correct answer before you read the book, you do not need to highlight the question and answer. If you cannot come up with the correct answer before you read the book, then you can highlight them. This way, when you do the review later and read the book for the second time, you can just focus on the portion that you are not familiar with and save yourself a lot of time. You can repeat this process with different colored highlighters until you are very familiar with the content of this book and you’ll be ready to face the music and take the LEED AP exam.

    The tip to passing the LEED AP exam, or any other exam, is to know the scope of the exam, and not to read too many books, but select one or two really good books and focus on them. Actually understand the content and memorize it. For your convenience, I have underlined the information that I think is very important and fundamental. You definitely need to memorize all the information that I’ve underlined. You should really try to understand the content first, and then memorize the content of the book by reading it multiple times. This is a much better way than the “mechanical” memory without understanding. I suggest you read the latest version of LEED for New Construction Reference Guide (Reference Guide) published by USGBC and this book. The Reference Guide is very comprehensive and detailed. The problem is that it probably has too much information for you to memorize. I suggest you read the Reference Guide first, then read this book and remember the main points for the exam. If you really do not have much time, you can read this book first, and then just refer to the Reference Guide for the part that you may have questions about. This way, you cover the most important information and you should be able to pass the exam…”

    Quoted from the Preface of “LEED AP Exam Guide” Non-exclusive rights of use granted to this site.

  58. akanksha Says:

    Hi
    I am taking my LEED NC exam this may..the latest edition available for the reference guide is the third one..but i have the first one which i got from a friend…im still a atudent and not really willing to shell out 200 bucks..can anybody please help?
    how much difference would it make if i still study from the first edition..i also came to know there are some changes to the exam..can anybody who recently gave the exam guide me through this?
    my email is akanksha@art.umass.edu

  59. Danielle Says:

    Hi there, I am planning to take the LEED NC 2.2 exam in early May (to give myself time if I need a do-over). I am torn about how to go about studying. I think I would do best if I enrolled in a test prep class, but there is only one that I can find that is at all convenient. It is offered by a group called Clean Edison, which I have never heard of. It is very expensive and doesn’t seem to include any training materials, so has anyone taken a test prep class from this company and was it any good? Thanks and I appreciate any feedback.

  60. steve Says:

    I just took it and passed the test with a 186 less than a week ago (and never really even read the book… any version). First of all, rather than shelling out $200 for a book that is about to be outdated in less than 6 months, I’d recommend paying for some online practice tests and flash cards. I found some at greenexamprep.com for $60 and I got 370 flash cards and 4-5 practice tests that I took and re-took until I consistently got a 90% or better. I’m sure you don’t HAVE to go to that particular website and buy their stuff… most places that offer study materials are more or less comparable, but it’s worth checking out. I went through all of the flash cards multiple times and surfed the net regularly to find tables and charts of requirements, credits, standards, exemplary performance, etc.

    It’s best to get as familiar with the material as humanly possible…. I had to give up skiing, watching TV and doing anything social for 3-4 weekends in a row while I spent about 10-12 hours per weekend going over this stuff again and again. Having a good background in science and/or math doesn’t necessarily help you at all… it’s pretty much all memorization (unless you have trouble with addition and subtraction and multiplying with decimals… if that’s the case, good luck.. J)

    Stuff that’s worth knowing:

    Requirements for each credit
    Who is responsible for which credit (architect, owner, engineer, contractor, etc)
    The difference between regular credits, innovation in design credits, and exemplary performance and knowing ALL of the percentages… knowing the difference between these can mean passing or failing.
    ASHRAE Standards and which credits they apply to… these are simple to memorize, but totally worth spending time getting to know these well. You don’t have to necessarily read the standards, but know what credits they apply to and how they are used (thermal comfort, MERV filters, ventilation, energy, etc)
    Pay special attention to MR credits (Materials and Resources) and which materials you can include/exclude for each category
    I was asked a handful of questions about VOC-emitting materials… know your EQ category well.

  61. steve Says:

    I posted some very helpful hints and tips for passing the LEED AP Exam and now it’s no longer up here? Are you bitter that I passed without reading the book?

  62. Jim Says:

    The best way to learn the LEED information is through the University of Florida TREO program. You can then take practice tests online and purchase flash cards for studying at http://www.greenexamprep.com. I passed my LEED exam after taking the prep course and two days of studying.

  63. Rob Says:

    The widest selection of LEED exam practice tests and educational materials from the most highly regarded publishers can be found at Green-Buildings.com… We’ve helped thousands of people get acquainted with the green building industry.

    Good luck!
    Rob

  64. Ron Matthew Says:

    Thanks to everyone for the helpful information. In my case (as with my colleagues) we took the exam package from http://www.leedexcel.com cost only for $19.99 and passed easily – they have a free sample test as well.

    Ron

    • Dennisgmanagement Says:

      Ill follow the exam package link, sound very doable. Very good blog page!


  65. The best LEED exam study for me was to continuously take online practice exams. A good LEED study guide is also very important. Try intheleed.com. They have an excellent study guide and the online test questions are exactly like the real test.


  66. Great job!!!I am happy to see that you are one step closer to being a part producing LEED certified building. Hopefully Silver or better LEED certified buildings. Having the right LEED material to guide you for your exam is key to passing.

  67. Gang Chen, Author of "LEED GA Exam Guide" and other books on Architecture, LEED and Landscape Says:

    Thank you for your interest in my books. Many of you asked when my updated version of LEED books would be available.

    Your wait is over: “LEED GA Exam Guide” is available NOW!

    See link below for sample pages:
    http://outskirtspress.com/leedgaexamguide
    “LEED GA Exam Guide” has included all the relevant features that you love in the original “LEED AP Exam Guide.”

    See customer discussion section of this book’s listing on Amazon.com for more information on this amazing book. See LEEDSeries.com for a complete list of ALL books in the LEED AP Exam Guides Series, which include one guide book for each of the LEED exams.

    Again, thank you for your interest.

    Gang Chen, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, Bestselling Author of “LEED GA Exam Guide” and other books on Architecture, LEED and Landscape


  68. Informative Post.. I passed LEED exam in September 2008, I got my LEED training from excellent instructors and I was registered in Green Associate Online Course , Green Associate Practice Tests, Building Design + Construction Practice Tests available at Planet Principles site and If you get enroll in to Green Associate Online Course , your success is guaranteed, This Green Building Fundamentals and Rating System Essentials online course is designed to prepare individuals to pass the LEED Green Associate exam.

  69. Barbara Says:

    I am just trying to figure it out. What is the deal with the associate exam. Is it easier than the “Leed exam” ya’all are describing? It looks like there are one day seminars Vs months of studying. note: I am NCIDQ certified in US and Canada (which took me three years!)

  70. Anonymous Says:

    The LEED Green Associate (GA) Exam is easier than the old LEED AP Exam, but the new LEED AP+ or LEED AP with a Specialty Exam is harder than the old LEED AP Exam. See customer discussions section under each of my book’s Amazon listing for more info.

    Gang Chen, Author of “LEED GA Exam Guide” and other books on Architecture, LEED and Landscape

  71. GANG CHEN Says:

    The LEED Green Associate (GA) Exam is easier than the old LEED AP Exam, but the new LEED AP+ or LEED AP with a Specialty Exam is harder than the old LEED AP Exam. See customer discussions section under each of my book’s Amazon listing for more info.

    Gang Chen, Author of “LEED GA Exam Guide” and other books on Architecture, LEED and Landscape

  72. amanda Says:

    Quick question to anyone who may know: Based on LEED v2.2, which version of the LEED AP test was the most difficult/comprehensive? CI, NC or EB? Thanks!


  73. The advice you’ve given is tremendously useful. Given the difficulty of the exam, it is important to spend a lot of time studying and understanding various techniques that will increase your score and bring you on your way to LEED certification. For more tips of how to pass the LEED exam, visit http://leedcertification.wordpress.com/2011/11/15/6-secrets-for-passing-the-leed-exam/.

  74. Robert Says:

    Thanks for sharing your such a great experience with me. As, i am also preparing for LEED exam and want to pass all the exam asap.


Leave a Reply

