Studying for the LEED V2.2 Test

3March2007

If you follow this blog, you will notice that my posting frequency has fallen off quite a bit recently. Instead of posting to the blog, I have been spending my free time studying for the LEED V2.2 AP Test. From what I hear, the test was revised over the past few months and the new test is pretty difficult to pass.

To date, my studying has consisted of reading the LEED-NC V2.2 Reference Guide. I am reading the “Materials and Resources” section right now. I also came across a good set of LEED V2.2 flash cards / practice test on EBay along with a practice test that I ordered from the Colorado Chapter of the U. S. Green Building Council.

In my conversations with students over the past year, LEED has been a hot topic. If any of you students would like to offer study tips for the AP Test, I would sure welcome them.

If you are unfamiliar with LEED and the USGBC, you check out the following background information taken directly from the USGBC website:

The U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC) is the nation’s foremost coalition of leaders from across the building industry working to advance buildings that are environmentally responsible, profitable and healthy places to live and work. Driving its mission to transform the built environment is the Council’s Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED®) Green Building Rating Systems™, which is now accessible online, and supported by a robust LEED Workshop program and LEED Professional Accreditation™ program. In addition, the Council supports a rich education and research agenda, including Greenbuild, the world’s largest international conference & expo focused on green building. It also supports an aggressive education and advocacy program delivered at the local level through 70 chapters across the United States.

7 Responses to “Studying for the LEED V2.2 Test”

  1. Don Wade Says:

    From what I’ve seen on the USGBC website, it looks like they want everyone, that are going to take the new test, to wait until after the week of March 5th – that’s this week. I’m also wondering if “new” material will be forthcoming as a study-aid for the new test? Hopefully, next week, things will be a little more clear.


  2. […] 7th, 2007 If you follow this blog, you may have come across my “excuse” posting a few weeks ago that mentioned that my posting frequency had fallen off a bit while I was studying for the […]

  3. Richard Says:

    You’re a few steps ahead of me. I have been designing homes and drawing renovation plans for about 4 years. I heard of LEED through a builder friend of mine and looked into it. I’m still not sure if its worth the money asking. I wanted to look at some of the design examples but have had no luck finding any to compare with what I already do. In your opinion, is there much of a difference compared to industry standards currently in place, or about to be put in place? The British Columbia Building Code is about to take on a Part 10. This new section will be “All Green”. I wonder if its just LEED reformated?! Anyrate, I’m about to start teaching drafting and home design and haven’t made a decision on whether LEED certification is needed.

    Cheers,

    Richard

  4. linda Says:

    How do you feel the LEED exam was compared to the CEM exam through AEE?


  5. Linda,

    I am not familiar with the CEM exam through AEE. Could you tell us a little more about this credential?

    Here is what I found through Googling “CEM exam through AEE”:

    http://www.aeecenter.org/certification/CEMpage.htm

    – Mike

  6. Catrina Says:

    It’s out of the bag. I was looking for a date on this post but didn’t see one..Apparently if you have already passed the test you have an option to “upgrade” so to speak. Did you end up taking the test? I am schedule for next week..yikes! All kidding aside I will be attending the courses next week which will definitely help me pass..btw Clean Edison Training Centers is a great resource..they have helped several of my Linkdn mates pass and they have all give rave reviews. I might sign up for private tutoring depending on how the course goes..plus if I don’t pass I can retake it free of charge..They have course sites all over the US


Leave a Reply

